Australian Qualifications (AQF)

The Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF) The AQF defines Australian qualifications, providing a single framework for all qualifications from Senior Secondary Certification to PhD An AQF qualification is recognised all around Australia and by other countries.

The AQF groups the qualifications according to the three educational sectors responsible for their accreditation:

  • secondary school;
  • vocational education and training (VET); and
  • higher education.


AQF Handbook
The AQF Handbook provides a detailed guide for the implementation of the AQF and should be read in conjunction with documents issued by accrediting bodies.
Download >>

The VET Sector Qualifications are:
(AQF1) Certificate I
(AQF2) Certificate II
(AQF3) Certificate III
(AQF4) Certificate IV
(AQF5) Diploma
(AQF6) Advanced Diploma
(AQF7) Degree - university
(AQF8) Vocational Graduate Certificate; Vocational Graduate Diploma
(AQF9) Masters - university
(AQF10) Ph.D - university
View the qualification guidelines here >>

Where do we find the VET Qualifications?
The VET qualifications available for each industry are defined in the relevant national Training Packages listed on the National Training Information Service (NTIS). Each qualification specifies the:

  • entry requirements (any pre-requisites such as a lower level qualification or any nominated units of competency, and/or relevant industry experience)
  • packaging rules that determine the structure of each qualification (eg, the number and source of elective units of competency to be achieved)
  • content - the core units of competency (ie, industry standards) + elective units
  • assessment guidelines for the trainer/assessor

AQF National Register of Qualifications and Institutions
The Register’s formal title is The AQF Register of Recognised Education Institutions and Authorised Accreditation Authorities in Australia. It is a register of every AQF qualification and the providers/institutions accredited to deliver and issue those qualifications. Check the Register here >>

  • Home
  • National Training System (VET)
  • Australian Qualifications (AQF)