Skills Recognition (RPL)

What is Skills Recognition?

Skills Recognition means that the skills and knowledge you already have through informal learning may count towards a nationally recognised qualification or statement of attainment for one or more units of competency in a vocational qualification. Skills recognition may also be called Recognition of Prior Learning or RPL.

NSW Initiatives

  • Skills RecognitionWebsite
    You can match your skills and experience to a qualification and choose a Registered Training Organisation (RTO) to assess you with the new self evaluation tool. Visit

  • RON - RPL Online Network
    RON provides a supportive environment for anyone interested in recognition of prior learning, with people able to choose their level of participation. Through a range of online discussions, face to face forums, and a collection of RPL resources, the Network aims to facilitate professional practice in Vocational Education and Training. Join here >>

  • RPL Practice Models & Resources
    The Commonwealth and NSW governments jointly funded the NSW COAG RPL Program managed by the NSW Department of Education and Training (NSW DET). Projects were run by a range of industry, training provider and community groups, resulting in important insights and valuable resources that training providers, enterprises and learners can download for free. See what's available >>

  • Skills Recognition Conference 2009
    Building Human Capital was the title of the 2009 NSW Skills Recognition Conference]. Program >>
    Watch the keynote presentations >>

Victorian Initiatives

  • Skills First RPL Assessor Kits
    Assessors can take a developed RPL Assessor Kit and use it as a framework to develop their own kits, continually improving the overall standard of RPL assessment. Assessors are encouraged to continue to use, amend and improve the existing RPL Assessor Kits to meet changes in training packages, client needs and changes in industry terminology. Find the RPL Assessor Kits here >>

National Quality Council References

National Quality Council Workplace Training Report

  • Home
  • Training Providers (RTOs)
  • Skills Recognition (RPL)