AQTF Standards

Australian Quality Training Framework (AQTF)

The Australian Quality Training Framework (AQTF) is the national set of compliance Standards and Essential Conditions that the VET training provider must meet to become a Registered Training Provider (RTO).

RTOs comply with the AQTF with respect to all or specific qualifications or units of competency in one, or more national industry Training Packages. Once audited, the RTO has the relevant qualifications they are approved to deliver, added to their 'scope of registration' which is then officially listed on the National Training Information Service (NTIS) website.

The AQTF regulator for RTOs is called a Registering Body. Currently there are state and national bodies, though the Australian Government is in the process of establishing a National Vet Regulator that will cover all states and territories except Victoria and Western Australia.

The AQTF assures nationally consistent, high-quality training and assessment services for the clients of Australia’s vocational education and training (VET) system. The revised version of the AQTF became effective from 1 July 2010.

AQTF standards are available for new and continuing training providers (RTOs):



National Quality Indicators

The Quality Indicators form part of the AQTF Essential Conditions and Standards for Continuing Registration. The three standards in the AQTF Essential Conditions and Standards for Continuing Registration all focus on continuous improvement. The Quality Indicators provide valuable data for RTOs to identify areas for improvement in training and assessment services and to gauge how well it is meeting its clients’ needs.

The Quality Indicator data that is collected will also be used by the registering body in its monitoring of the quality of the RTOs’ operations to minimise the risk of poor quality performance having a negative impact on clients or the standing of the Australian VET system. As a result of this monitoring, each RTO will have a risk profile, which will contribute to decisions about the scheduling and scope of auditing.

Three Quality Indicators:

  1. Employer satisfaction (competency development, and training and assessment quality). This indicator focuses on employers’ evaluations of learners’ competency development, its relevance to work and further training, and the overall quality of the training and assessment
  2. Learner engagement (learner engagement and competency development). This indicator focuses on the extent to which learners are engaging in activities likely to promote high-quality skill outcomes, as well as learners’ perceptions of the quality of their competency development and the support they receive from RTOs
  3. Competency completion rate. This is calculated for qualifications and units of competency/modules delivered, based on data provided by RTOs on the previous calendar year’s number of enrolments and qualifications completed and/or units of competency/modules awarded.

More Information

AQTF Users' Guide to the Essential Conditions and Standards for Continuing Registration
W: >>

  • Home
  • National Training System (VET)
  • AQTF Standards